Skip to content

Public Safety Communications Awards Program

Nominate a hero in your life.

Nominations will open in January 2022.

APCO International presents awards to public safety communications personnel who have demonstrated the highest levels of personal and professional conduct and performance in the line of duty.

PSAP award categories currently include:

Don't forget about the Technology Leadership Awards designed to recognize centers for their use of technological advancements and the demonstrated benefit received to their employees and the citizens they serve. Awards in two categories:  small/medium agencies and large agencies.

Who's eligible?

Nominees must have been employed in the applicable category by a public safety agency at any time between April 1, 2020 and March 31, 2021. They must work or reside within the boundaries of the United States of America and its Territories or within the charter area of an International Chapter of APCO-International. Nominees do not have to be members of APCO.

What do the award winners receive?

PSAP Award recipients will enjoy our VIP treatment, which starts with a fully paid trip to APCO 2021, APCO's Annual Conference & Expo, including registration, travel expenses, and hotel accommodations. This year's conference will be held in San Antonio, August 15-18, 2021. During the conference, the recipients will be brought on stage to receive their awards in front of thousands. They will also be featured in press release announcing the winners and in an article in APCO's Public Safety Communications (the official magazine of APCO International).

The Award Recipients for the Technology Leadership Award receive a complimentary "day-pass" registration to APCO 2021 for the day of the award ceremony. A representative from the winning PSAP(s) will be recognized at the annual conference, in Public Safety Communications and on the web site.

When are the award winners announced?

APCO's Awards Committee submits their final selections to the Board of Directors in early May 2021. Once approved, award recipients are notified of their selection in mid-May 2021.

See the 2020 PSAP and Technology Award winners and nominees.