Skip to content

Spectrum Management Resources

Frequencies in the 470-512 MHz TV-Band

Frequencies from 470-512 MHz are designated as UHF-TV Sharing frequencies and are available in certain limited areas of the county. Public Safety entities in these Urbanized Areas are allowed to share UHF frequencies on TV channels 14 through 20. FCC Rules 90.301 through 90.317 governs the assignment of frequencies and protection of TV stations.

The Urbanized Areas that have been designated by the FCC for geographical sharing of these frequencies are as follows:

Boston, MA

Chicago, IL

Cleveland, OH

Dallas/Fort Worth, TX

Detroit, MI

Houston, TX

Los Angeles, CA

Miami, FL

New york, NY/N.E. New Jersey

Philadelphia, PA

San Francisco/Oakland, CA

Washington, DC/Maryland/Virginia

To see the range of channels available in TV Band, click here.

For more detailed information, please refer to 90.303.